Ranking Standards

Traditional Martial Arts Ranking Standards


Ranking is the evaluation of an individual’s progress towards the attainment of human perfection through the practice of Karate and Kobujutsu. This evaluation is not based solely upon the physical technique. It encompasses the entire person’s physical, moral and spiritual development. Promotions in rank are awarded in proportion to an individual’s degree of development toward the Martial Arts goal of perfection. The established standards of progress and criteria for advancement are explained as follows.


7th Kyu (Hichi kyu) This is the beginners level wherein the individual learns the basic external techniques of Karate
6th Kyu (Roku Kyu)


5th Kyu (Go Kyu)

4th Kyu (Yon Kyu)

Each of these levels requires an increased stage of development of both technical and mental skills.
3rd Kyu (San Kyu)


2and Kyu (Ni Kyu)

At this level the student has gained the ability to use fundamental principles in a controlled and effective manner.
1st Kyu (Ichi Kyu) A this level the individual must be capable of executing fall fundamental body movements and techniques with proper application. This includes all hand and leg techniques.
1st Degree (Sho Dan) This level necessitates a further maturation of abilities. All basic body movements and techniques, including hand and leg techniques, can be applied with extended force and proper application in basic combinations.
2and Degree (Ni Dan) This state requires the personal assimilation and performance of all basic body movements and techniques to such a degree that their application is in accord with the individual’s own unique body type.
3rd Degree (San Dan) At this position, the individual has acquired the understanding principles in all basic body movements and techniques. Moreover, this understanding can be demonstrated in the application of techniques under varied circumstances and conditions.
4th Degree (Yon Dan) The individual attaining this standing has exemplified knowledge of the principal body movements and techniques and their applications under varied conditions to such a degree that a demonstrated ability to teach others has been attained.
5th Degree (Go Dan) This is the level wherein research has been completed in some limited area. This research includes its application in a manner that is both relevant and applicable to the individual’s particular physique.
6th Degree (Roku Dan) The attainment of this position necessitates the performance of research in an area that by its nature has a universal benefit to be derived by its application.
7th Degree (Hichi Dan) To achieve this level the individual must have undertaken advanced research through actual application and extensive testing of the general research technique.
8th Degree (Hachi Dan) At this point, research must have been completed in a new and previously unknown area.
9th Degree (Kyu Dan) The requirements for this standard call for an uncommon dedication for an extended period of time to the areas of individual achievement, research hand technique. This dedication must have culminated in Martial Arts achievement and development of the highest and most extraordinary order. Moreover, this accumulated knowledge an expertise must have been utilized in the general service of Martial Arts development.
10th Degree (Jyu Dan) This is the stage where the individual has finally neared the highest image of karate development. This has been brought about by the continuous practice and pursuit of the truth that is to be found in the human ideal.

NOTE: Each level requires that the individual has accomplished all preceding ranking requirements.